Take care of yourself! This is mostly about your feet.

13 Jun

When I moved here 10 years ago, I was oblivious to what the desert heat would do to my body. My lips chap faster. My hands crack.  My skin gets ashy. Hair? I use multiple products every day to keep it in good condition. But the biggest thing I noticed? My fucking feet.

Your skin is the largest organ of your body. This is why I make my own household cleaners, too. Everything that gets on your skin goes straight to your bloodstream. I won’t preach about that now, but I can email you a great cleaning recipe.

It’s summer 9 months a year in Phoenix. Maybe it’s not 100 degrees for that long, but it’s warm long enough here that we don’t follow the “No open-toed shoes after Labor Day” rule. That would be asinine and people would DIE.

This isn’t just for the women. Men need to pay attention, too, if you wear anything like sandals. I was just talking to a guy who said that he can tell how well a woman takes care of the rest of her body, just by looking at her feet.

I’m repeating that: He can tell how well a woman takes care of the rest of her body, just by looking at her feet.

You don’t have to be a model lookalike to get a date. What you do have to do, however, is take care of what you already have.

My foot recipe:

Take a cup of sugar. Add enough olive oil to make it into a loose paste. This is what you should be scrubbing your feet with on a weekly basis. I like adding lavender oil or, if it’s been a fuck of a long day, peppermint oil. It’s cool and refreshing! Soak your feet in a few inches of water in your tub for 10 minutes. Take a book. Then, scrub. I have a foot nail brush that I use on my toenails and a pumice for my heels. Once your feet are dry, you can file away the nasty shit. Then, I always always always put on a thick foot balm and some spa socks. I’ll wear them until it’s time to go to bed. I cannot sleep with socks on, especially this time of year.

Your feet carry you around all day long. You beat the shit out of them with shoes that don’t fit properly, even if they make you look good. You need to take care of them! Make it a habit and you’ll start to feel better about the way you look. Maybe you’ll even start to do something with some other body part.

If you take care of yourself, there will be someone out there who will want to take care of you.

2 Responses to “Take care of yourself! This is mostly about your feet.”

  1. Michelle Mikstas June 17, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    So true! Your scrub is similar to one I use to exfoliate and moisturize my face. I add sea salt, coffee (ground fresh coffee) and use it as a scrub. The caffiene perks your tired skin up. I learned it from a drag queen. I use it on feet, legs, etc. It’s amazing. I love this post because I thought I was the only one who was fighting the battle of the reptile feet….when I went back home to Philly for ten days…my feet were so soft! Crazy.

    • fabamy June 17, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

      Just sea salt & coffee? Or do you add some sort of liquid?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

